Loading articles...

Results in Surrey federal byelection expected to be close

Last Updated Dec 11, 2017 at 7:27 pm PST

Byelection campaign signs in South Surrey-White Rock (Ellen Coulter, NEWS 1130 photo)

SURREY (NEWS 1130) – It’s voting day in South Surrey-White Rock.

Polls are open until 7 p.m. tonight to select a new Member of Parliament to fill the seat left empty by Conservative Dianne Watts, who left to run for the provincial Liberal leadership.

The Liberals made major gains in the riding during the 2015 election, but Watts was able to win the seat by a narrow three per cent margin over Judith Higginbotham.

South Surrey-White RockĀ candidates

  • Larry Colero of the Green Party of Canada
  • Kerry-Lynne Findlay of the Conservative Party of Canada
  • Gordie Hogg of the Liberal Party of Canada
  • Michael Huenefeld of the Progressive Canadian Party
  • Jonathan Silveira of the New Democratic Party
  • Rod Taylor of the Christian Heritage Party of Canada
  • Donald Wilson of the Libertarian Party of Canada


Elections Canada Field Liaison Officer Debbie Fraser says voter turnout has been steady, both for advance polling and on election day.

“The election officials have been handling everything very efficiently; no lineups longer than maybe six or seven people maximum,” she says.

University of the Fraser Valley political scientist Hamish Telford says it’s too close to call whether the Conservatives will retain the seat, or whether the Liberals will win strengthen their majority in the House of Commons.

Both Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and Conservative leader Andrew Scheer appeared in the riding this month to stump for their party’s candidates. NDP Leader Jagmeet Singh did not.

NEWS 1130 will have a reporter in the riding, and we’ll bring you up-to-the-minute results as they come in.