Loading articles...

Metro Vancouver's youngest mayors elected in the Tri-Cities

Last Updated Oct 21, 2018 at 12:08 am PST

(Source: iStock)

TRI-CITIES (NEWS 1130) – There was an upset and a landslide in the Tri-Cities, as it elected two of the youngest mayors in Metro Vancouver.

The upset in Port Moody saw two-term mayor Mike Clay lose to his only challenger: one-term city councillor, Rob Vagramov.

It was a close race, with only about 400 votes separating the two. Vagramov received 4,545 votes and Clay got 4,161.

Vagramov made news across the Lower Mainland during the election when a video of him drinking a beer with a homeless person several years ago surfaced online. At the time, he said it happened when he was fresh out of college and it was “super-cingey watching it now.”

At 28 years old, Vagramov is the youngest mayor in Metro Vancouver and one of the youngest in Canada.


Diana Dilworth
Meghan Lahti
Amy Lubik
Hunter MAdsen
Steve Milani
Zoe Royer

School Board:

Lisa Park
Keith Watkins

In Port Coquitlam, it was a landslide victory for Brad West, who beat out three candidates to replace longtime Mayor Greg Moore.

A 33-year-old three-term city councillor, West becomes the second-youngest mayor in Metro Vancouver.

“I’m just very very humbled by the support for my community. I’ve lived in Port Coquitlam my whole life and to serve as the mayor of my home town will be the honour of my life,” West told NEWS 1130 after his election win.

“I’m not surprised that the Tri-Cities has elected younger representatives because I do think there are a lot of younger people who are moving to our area.”

Port Coquitlam is also where Steve Darling has secured a council seat. The former TV news anchor and radio personality unsuccessfully ran in last year’s provincial elections as the Liberal candidate in Burnaby-Lougheed.


Laura DuPont
Glenn Pollock
Darrell Penner
Steve Darling
Dean Washington
Nancy McCurrach

School Board:

Christine Pollock
Michael Thomas


It wasn’t much of a shake-up in Coquitlam, where Mayor Richard Stewart has been re-elected. He had two challengers, but he comfortably beat them, getting 69 per cent of the vote.

He has previously said that if elected, this term would be his last.


Craig Hodge
Chris Wilson
Teri Towner
Bonita Zarrillo
Brent Asmundson
Dennis Marsden
Trish Mandewo
Steve Kim

School Board:

Carol Cahoon
Jennifer Blatherwick
Craig Woods
Barb Hobson

Read more about the top issues in the Tri-Cities

– With files from Denise Wong and Estefania Duran