Loading articles...

Sedin twins to be inducted into the B.C. Sports Hall of Fame

Last Updated May 23, 2019 at 11:44 am PDT


Henrik and Daniel Sedin will be inducted into the B.C. Sports Hall of Fame after 17 seasons with the Canucks

Ron Toigo, President of the Vancouver Giants, is also being honoured

The Class of 2019 includes 11 people, as well as the 1968 New Westminster Salmonbellies

VANCOUVER (NEWS 1130) – The B.C. Sports Hall of Fame “Class of 2019” will include Henrik and Daniel Sedin, who played 17 seasons with the Canucks.

Henrik, who is the Canucks’ all-time leading goal scorer, says he’s honoured and adds he’s been enjoying his first year of retirement.

“It’s been amazing, everything I thought and hoped it would be.” he says. “I wake up everyday with a smile on my face. I’m able to drive my kids to school. It’s been fun to be around way more.”

He says his induction into the B.C. Sports Hall of Fame is an amazing recognition, especially considering he and his brother weren’t born in Vancouver.

“Right when we got here we fell in love with the city and province. Throughout the years our kids have grown up here, there’s nothing not to like, nothing taken for granted,” Henrik adds. “We are from a small town in Northern Sweden, and here we are in British Columbia.”

RELATED: Canucks a different team without the Sedins, with Pettersson the top prospect

Daniel says with a lot of athletes from his former team also being recognized, it makes the experience even more meaningful.

“It means a lot to be inducted. There are a lot of great people in the Hall of Fame. A lot of former Canucks inducted too, so it’s a great honour.”

The Sedins will be up on stage alongside President of the Vancouver Giants Ron Toigo, who says one of his highlights is the Giants winning the Memorial Cup in 2007.

“To accomplish something like that at home with 16,000 people in the Coliseum was something I will certainly never forget,” Toigo says. “The World Juniors when we won the gold at home that was certainly amazing as well.”

The Class of 2019 includes 11 people, as well as the 1968 New Westminster Salmonbellies, who were crowned the champions of the National Lacrosse Association that year.

-With files from Sportsnet 650