Loading articles...

Canucks’ Elias Pettersson wins Calder Trophy as rookie of the year

Last Updated Jun 19, 2019 at 5:24 pm PDT

FILE - Vancouver Canucks' Elias Pettersson, of Sweden, skates during the first period of an NHL hockey game against the Los Angeles Kings in Vancouver, on Tuesday November 27, 2018. (Darryl Dyck / CP)

VANCOUVER (NEWS 1130) — Vancouver Canucks centre Elias Pettersson has won the Calder Trophy as the NHL’s rookie of the year.

Pettersson, 20, beat Blues goalie Jordan Binnington and Sabres defenceman Rasmus Dahlin to win the award.

The fifth-overall pick in 2017, Pettersson paced both his team and all NHL rookies with 28 goals, 38 assists and 66 total points in his first campaign with the Canucks. Those 66 points also ranked as the most ever posted by a Canucks rookie, surpassing Pavel Bure’s 60-point high-water mark from 1992.

For a full list of award winners, click here.