Loading articles...

NHLPA announces finalists for Ted Lindsay Award

Last Updated Jul 14, 2020 at 8:14 am PDT

Los Angles Kings' Alec Martinez (27) chases Edmonton Oilers' Leon Draisaitl (29) as goalie Jonathan Quick (32) looks of the shot during second period NHL action in Edmonton, Alta., on Thursday November 29, 2018. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jason Franson

TORONTO (660 NEWS) — The NHL is starting to release the names of finalists of its annual awards as it prepares to restart its season.

On Tuesday morning, the NHLPA announced Edmonton Oilers’ Leon Draisaitl, Colorado Avalanche’s Nathan MacKinnon and New York Rangers’ Artemi Panarin are the three finalists for the 2019-20 Ted Lindsay award.

None of the three players nominated have won the award. This is the second nomination for MacKinnon (2017-18 finalist) and the first for both Draisaital and Panarin.

Edmonton’s Draisaitl has been pegged as many as the favourite to win the award after registering a league-leading 110 points in 71 games of the pandemic-shortened season.

New York’s Panarin was third in the league in scoring with 95 points in his first year with the Rangers after signing a seven-year, US$81.5-million contract last off-season.

Colorado’s MacKinnon tallied 93 points while helping lead the Avalanche to the second seed in the Western Conference only two points behind the reigning Stanley Cup Champion St. Louis Blues.

RELATED: NHL postpones draft, awards show and combine due to COVID-19

RELATED: NHL, NHLPA tentatively agree to CBA extension, return-to-play plan

Finalists for the remaining awards will be announced on the following dates:

  • Wednesday, July 15
    Calder Memorial Trophy and Jack Adams Award
  • Thursday, July 16
    Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy and Lady Byng Memorial Trophy
  • Friday, July 17
    Vezina Trophy and Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award
  • Monday, July 20
    Frank J. Selke Trophy and James Norris Memorial Trophy
  • Tuesday, July 21
    Hart Memorial Trophy


Finalists for the Jim Gregory General Manager of the Year Award and King Clancy Memorial Trophy will be announced at a later date. Only a winner will be named for this season’s Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award.

The winners of the 2020 NHL Awards will bee announced during this year’s Conference Finals as the annual awards show in Las Vegas was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.