Loading articles...

Can I travel to another Canadian province during the coronavirus pandemic?

FILE - A plane is silhouetted as it takes off from Vancouver International Airport in Richmond, B.C., on May 13, 2019. THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward

Most provinces do not require self isolation following inter-provincial travel

Travel allowed within Atlantic bubble without isolation

Territories require some Canadian travellers to self isolate

NEWS 1130 is working hard to get you the information you need about the COVID-19 pandemic.

When you have questions, NEWS 1130 Gets Answers.


Sakina: “My question is, Is inter province air travel allowed, if it is since when this was allowed. [Do] people need to do self-isolation for 14 days?”


Travelling between provinces is allowed but still not recommended for many Canadians.

While everyone entering Canada from abroad is expected to self-isolate for 14 days, not all inter-provincial travellers have to do the same.

Each province has its own self-isolation rules.


Travellers entering Alberta from elsewhere in Canada do not have to self-isolate, but the government urges its residents not to make non-essential trips outside the province.

Residents returning to Alberta from outside Canada or who have been in close contact with a COVID-19 patient are required to self-isolate for two weeks.

Anyone with the following symptoms not linked to a pre-existing illness or health condition must isolate for 10 days: fever, cough, runny nose, sore throat or shortness of breath.

Albertans can travel within the province, but are expected to maintain physical distancing.

British Columbia

B.C. does not require inter-provincial travellers to self-isolate upon their arrival and non-essential travel within the province is allowed.


The Saskatchewan government advises its residents not to travel outside the province, unless they live near a border and cross it to commute to work.

The province does not require people to self-isolate following travel outside Saskatchewan in Canada.

Anyone entering the province should self-monitor for potential COVID-19 symptoms and self-isolate “at the first sign of even mild symptoms,” the province says.


Travellers entering Manitoba from B.C., Alberta, Saskatchewan, Yukon, Nunavut, Northwest Territories or Northern Ontario do not have to self-isolate if they haven’t knowingly been exposed to COVID-19 and don’t have symptoms.

Travellers from elsewhere in Canada have to self-isolate for 14 days upon their arrival.


Ontario does not require inter-provincial travellers to self-isolate.


Travellers are not required to self-isolate when entering Quebec from other Canadian provinces.

Travel within the province is allowed and many tourist industry businesses have been allowed to reopen.

The province has restricted travel to some regions and communities within the province but has since lifted many of those restrictions, except the Cree Territory of James Bay and Nunavik.

Atlantic Canada

New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island and Newfounland and Labrador together make up the Atlantic bubble.

People travelling between provinces in the bubble do not need to self-isolate.

Anyone else entering the bubble from another country or province must self-isolate for 14 days.

Prince Edward Island requires anyone entering the province from outside the Atlantic bubble to first get pre-approval as an essential worker.


The Yukon does not require its own residents and those of B.C., Northwest Terriotories and Nunavut to self-isolate when they enter the country, as long as they haven’t left those four regions in the previous two weeks.

Almost everyone else has to self isolate when they arrive, with the exception of “critical workers” who left the territory for work.

Northwest Territories

Travellers entering the Northwest Territories have to self isolate in one of four communities: Yellowknife, Inuvik, Hay River or Forth Smith.

Residents of Nunavut are exempt from the self-isolation requirements.


Before flying to Nunavut, residents will have to self-isolate for 14 days in Ottawa, Winnipeg, Edmonton or Yellowknife.

“At the end of the 14 days, asymptomatic residents will be cleared and provided a letter signed by the chief public health officer allowing them to return to their home community,” the territory says,

A common travel area has been established with the Northwest Territories and Churchill, Manitoba, exempting anyone who hasn’t left it within two weeks from self isolating in Nunavut.

Got a question you want answered? Submit it here.